free motion quilting · machine quilting · piecing

“Rose Garden” baby quilt

Rose garden is a quilt I finished back in September. It’s based on this pattern called “Moroccan Lullaby” by Melissa Corey. I’d been wanting to try a new quilting motif (more on that in a bit) and so the big open spaces of this pattern appealed to me.

b100_0554

Now of course, being me, I didn’t actually follow the pattern. It was really helpful to see how she’d written everything up, so I really recommend it, but the blocks are 20″ wide and I didn’t want to do just 2×2 blocks for a baby blanket of this size (40-something inches square). So I redid all the math and made smaller blocks so that it was 9×9 instead. I feel like that gives a better sense of the primary and secondary patterns at work.

b100_0555

The indoor lighting here I think does a better job of showing off the quilting design.  The pink pieces have the feathered wreathes I’ve been practicing lately.b100_0562b100_0559

Here is a more close up shot of a wreath, it’s a fun exercise to try to make even, consistent petals that fill the whole space.

b100_0564b100_0565

The background I kept really simple, with just the gold portions outlined. This project was a lot of fun to quilt and I really enjoyed the feather practice! Now I have another skill unlocked and the quilt is off at its new home where it will hopefully bring joy and comfort for years to come!

Here’s a fun behind the scenes look at how I planned the quilt in Illustrator. Not far off!

moroccan lullaby roses.jpg

Leave a comment